A Walking Man Walks

Photography by Rtk

A Walking Man Walks…

I walk and I hike
And sometimes I run,
Sometimes.

I walk down and around
The block and the square,
I hike the trail, the goat path, the creek bed, the river bank.
I love the footbridges, the steps, the walls
All giving me direction
I suppose.

I walk. The wind often comes along,
Sometimes the rain and almost always the sun,
If not, then a flashlight is my best friend.

A walking man walks
As a talking man talks,
I can do both at the same time
But prefer not too,

Part Two:

Lately,
Where ever I walk, I find crosses. Decorated crosses.
On trees, on the side of the road, near a bluff or a waterfall,
I know what they mean.
There is a story that ends tragically
A day that someone did not return home,
A night so long that even the dawn could not save it,
It breaks my heart every time,
So I walk, and I hike
And sometimes I run
Knowing the stories…

Rtk
Photography by Rtk

Leave a comment